Meeting Minutes Subcommittee on Education and Workforce Development Maryland Cybersecurity Council July 2, 2020 11:00 am 12:00 am Virtual Format

Attendance (9/16)

Subcommittee members attending: Senator Katie Fry Hester (chair), Senator Bryan Simonaire, Dr. Michel Cukier, Dr. Anupam Joshi, Dr. Kevin Kornegay (for Dr. David Wilson, President of Morgan State University), Laura Nelson, Rodney Petersen, Jonathan Powell, and Russell Strickland.

Staff: Howard Barr (Assistant Attorney General & Principal Counsel, Office of the Attorney General, Department of Information Technology), Nithin Venkatraman (Chief of Staff, Office of Senator Hester), and Dr. Greg von Lehmen (University Maryland Global Campus, Staff to the Maryland Cybersecurity Council)

programs. What was needed was a clearer articulation of the pathways from high schools into those programs.

Dr. Kornegay mentioned two pathways, namely high school Career and Technical

Dr. Kornegay mentioned that teacher training programs for retirees might be a way to					